about me

Hello there!

My name is Dhurata and I am a clothing designer, dressmaking pattern designer and private sewing tutor. I live in West Sussex, UK, with my husband and two gorgeous sons. I was born in Kosovo where I grew up and had the honour of being around great men and women who knew how to make pretty much anything with their bare hands. That is not to say I’m not still growing up and learning every single day! I met my husband in Kosovo and married in 2000. We have had great fun travelling (because of his work) and living in some pretty diverse places, soaking up all that they had to offer. We’ve been back in the UK since the summer of 2013 trying to lay some roots for the first time since we met. So far, so good!

I have always been creative in one way or another. Ever since a child I loved drawing, designing and making. I studied graphic design at university, tried my hand at interior design, children’s clothing, sewing, knitting, crochet, upholstery… and everything in between. The thing I love the most though is clothing design and dressmaking. I’ve always made clothes for myself and others and there’s no greater pleasure for my creative part of the brain than laying a piece of fabric on my cutting table and moments later (or, in extreme cases, hours later!!!) ending up with a wearable, useable and unique item of clothing! So, as you can imagine, I spend a lot of my spare time doing just that and perfecting my technique. Between October 2014 and February 2018, I worked part-time at The Eternal Maker in Chichester, where I did more of the same, as well as teaching dressmaking classes. While there I also co-founded Two Stitches Patterns and designed their children’s dressmaking patterns. I love designing for children and I’ve been doing that successfully ever since having my very own first baby in 2005. Back then in New York, greatly inspired by my baby and the city where I was living at the time, I started a small handmade children’s clothing business. It all started with an orange hat I made for my son, so I called it (you guessed it!) An Orange Hat!

I now design and make children’s and (mainly!) women’s clothing as well as teaching sewing classes.

This blog will be about all the things I make and do… but mainly sewing and the way I do it. I hope my experience and the skills I will share will be of use to you and inspire you on your own creative journey!

Enjoy,

Dhurata

P.S. Please note that this site is in development and there will be lots more to come in the following months!